When the UNIVERSE speaks….LISTEN

image

When the universe speaks….listen

Where does the time go? Had it really been two weeks already? I was on the plane headed back to Abu Dhabi (as I typed this entry). ****A look back in time****

 

I am flying Saudi Airlines. :0/ I don’t know how I feel about that but it’s to late now. Their airline had the lowest fare! Lol. I have a connection in Saudi Arabia and then I land in Dubai. And then 24 hours later I’ll be back on a plane headed to Sri Lanka. Lol. Poor planning on my part, but I’m gonna just go with it.

 

Interestingly enough while waiting to board the plane (in NYC), I was randomly approached by this black guy (Ramon) around my age who currently works in Saudi Arabia. He said he worked for the US military and that he’s been living and working there for about a year. I asked him, “How is that? ” (with a crooked look on my face). But as soon as the words left my mouth I realized my reaction was the same reaction I get when I tell people that I work in Abu Dhabi. Lol. Most folks still think I’m teaching in Iraq, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, or Afghanistan. Needless to say I let go of my preconceived notions and opened my eyes, ears and mind to his experience. Oddly enough his experience sounded a lot like my experience. Only difference is that he’s making a heck of a lot more money than me! He mentioned retirement in a year and I promise he’s about 35 or so.

 

It’s interesting how the universe works because right before he approached me I was sitting alone and waiting patiently to board the plane. And while I was waiting I was THINKING. I’m sure you all know about the mind chatter. It’s the conversation we have with ourselves in our heads. I try my best not to do this because some thoughts can literally drive me crazy! So I’m sitting there and I was just thinking about my trip home, my upcoming travels and teaching for a second year in Abu Dhabi. Right before Ramon approached me I was going back and forth (THINKING) about completing a second year of teaching overseas or finding a way to leave the program early. I was thinking about whether I’m doing the right thing or not. I was thinking about how much I’m going to miss my mom, family, and friends. I was thinking about what’s next after teaching overseas. I was basically thinking about my life choices. Just a lot of stuff! I started to get sad, overwhelmed, and just began feeling off. Of course when you are emotional it’s never a good time to make decisions. But as usual ……..my EGO won the debate in my head. I was literally planning my escape from the two-year commitment I made to teach in Abu Dhabi. Lol.

 

This is when Ramon approached me and I’m so glad that he did because my mind was in overdrive. Talking with him really reminded me as to why I needed to complete my second year. Save, save, save money! And opportunities like this don’t come often. Ramon is set and I really appreciated how focused he is on his goal. He was adamant about setting him and his family up financially so that eventually he could return home, retire and live comfortably. And he seemed so okay with being away from his wife and new-born baby. I really envied how at PEACE he was with the decision he made to work overseas. He explained how its hard being away from his family but a sacrifice he chose considering the economy and lack of jobs. We both agreed that Americans have to work so hard to get minimal pay. He referred to the middle east as the best kept secret to making good money. Touché! lol The conversation really helped put my emotions back in check because I’ve learned no matter what you decide to do in life, your EGO will ALWAYS convince you that the other choice would have been the better choice. As we parted ways (his seat was further back on the plane) we exchanged email addresses and I encouraged him to reach out if he ever found himself in the United Arab Emirates. Technically speaking Saudi Arabia is Abu Dhabi’s neighbor. Lol. But seriously I really needed that conversation with a complete stranger. No judgment, just simple rhyme and reason. I truly felt better about getting onto the plane because I was so close to running home to mommy. Lol.

 

Life is so hard folks! But ultimately you’ve got to listen to your SOURCE (god, the one, higher power) which speaks directly to your heart, have no fear, and just surrender. That moment truly was the universe (GOD) speaking to me through Ramon. It is always on time! :0) BTW did I mention Ramon is also a Pastor and owns a church in Texas. Crazy Right!? When the universe speaks, I listen!

 

So I board the plane feeling better after having received a clear message from GOD. And then I notice another message being sent my way. Guess who I’m sitting next to during this 12 hour flight? No not Ramon. But a boy, who is about 9 years old. And I was instantly reminded of my purpose. Often times our egos are constantly thinking about me, me, me, me. And we lose sight of the purpose we are destined to fulfill while we are here on earth. For me, it’s always been to inspire youth and the classroom is the platform in which I fulfill my purpose. I’m sitting next to this boy whose name is something I have no idea how to spell. I’m not even gonna try. Lol. He is traveling with his mother. I believe his english is minimal because he constantly stares and just smiles at me. I smile back. He began playing with the entertainment module but had no headphones so I let him use mine (I had a second pair). Needless to say, just being next to him warmed my heart and reminded me of why I have chosen to serve youth. I reach out to shake his hand, he reaches out to shake mine. I tell him thank you and he says why? I say……”because you’re a cool kid”. He grins at me and throws himself back into the seat. His mom smiles. I sit back and enjoy the peace of mind!

 

The universe speaks and I listen! You’ve got my attention. My mind is finally at peace…… :0)

 
SIDE NOTE: It’s a year later and I’m so thankful I hung and there and saw my two  year commitment through. :8)

Categories: Life Lesson | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

